17
Aug
08

Olympic Fever

Remember these Olympic history makers?  I must admit. I have Olympic fever and in that spirit I wanted to share some three of my favorite winners.

Dutch track star Fanny Blankers-Koen took home four gold medals at the London Summer Olympics in 1948. I love the shorts.

Wilma Rudolph is the 20th of 22 children and a Tennessee native. She had polio as a child.  Rudolph scored three gold medals at the 1960 Summer Olympics in Rome with a sprained ankle!

At 14 Romanian gymnast Nadia Comaneci captured 5 gold medals at the 1976 Montreal Olympics. Her routine on the uneven bars earned an unprecedented 10.0. Ironically, the scoreboard was unequipped to handle a perfect score, so her marks showed up as a 1.0.

 

 

 


1 Response to “Olympic Fever”


  1. March 2, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    I am doing a report on her. Is she a black woman? Please send me a yes or no answer on my e-mail. Horseygrl9@yahoo.com.

    Alicia Lachance 5th Grade


Leave a Reply

